Article Detail

Furniture Design Graduates Capture Pinnacle Awards

Posted October 24, 2012 in Alumni


Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University Furniture Design graduates brought both pride and recognition to the college and their industry at the American Society of Furniture Designers (ASFD) 17th annual Pinnacle Awards, presented Friday, October 19, in High Point, NC.

Seven alumni, representing both industry veterans and recent graduates, were nominated in six of 16 categories, and five pieces won awards.

Taylor West (’05) captured the Youth Furniture category with his Abby Collection for Hooker Furniture. Judges recognized the collection for its versatile touch of feminine flavor that also translates into a broader appeal suitable for the second bedroom.

Denis Kissane, ASFD, (’00) was a member of Stanley Furniture’s winning design teams in three categories.

Occasional Tables from the Avalon Heights Collection by Stanley Furniture were acknowledged for their stylish, graceful lines that lend a glamorous appeal. The modern design is clean and beautiful with a geometric grid motif expressed in a handsome combination of metal and glass.

In the Casual Dining category, judges recognized the Artisan Collection for its modern twist on casual dining with metro design elements. Inspired with a sense of nostalgia, Artisan features a pleasing mixture of materials, including woven leather as the seat cover for an unexpected component.

The Arrondissement Collection captured the Formal Dining category. Its easy elegance for the dining room with the blend of vintage flavors is impressive in its nice use of wood, striking table top detail, and variety of finish tones.

David Vanderbloemen, who also attended Kendall, won in the Leather Upholstery category. The elegance and masculinity of his Meridien Series was recognized by judges, who also appreciated the curved back detail of the seat and decorative saddle stitching.

Four other Kendall alumni were nominated for Pinnacle Awards: Derek Taylor (’08), Troy Hollis (’02), Thomas McDaniel (’91), and D. Scott Coley (’92).

“The Pinnacle Awardsboth honor and recognize creative, relevant, and original designs in home furnishings that push our industry to the next level,” says John Conrad, ASFD Vice President and 2012 Pinnacle Awards Chairman. “I congratulate the finalists and thank our terrific panel of judges for their hard work in this process.”

The judging panel for the 2012 Pinnacle Awards was comprised of a dozen representatives of the furniture design industry, including designers, educators, and industry publications. Kendall Furniture Design professor Bruce Mulder served on the judging panel.

Make it
Loading spectacular images…